Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Forgiveness or Permission?

leave a comment »

Sometimes I hear a little voice that goes against the momentum that may already be carrying me.  Most times, I don’t listen to that voice because I’m overly confident that I’m right.  But almost always, that little voice is right and I pay for that over confidence by letting that momentum throw me over a cliff like Wyle E. Coyote.  It’s a clear voice so it’s not hard to hear, but like I said, it’s my ego that eventually drowns it out.  Recently though, I’ve been thinking that voice is probably the one I should be listening to.  So, against my nature and my history, I’ve been trying to do just that.  I won’t do it always, because my ego can be charismatic and a bully.  And I don’t know if outcomes will be any better.  But my guess is that they will be.

Written by Interviewer

August 21, 2012 at 11:39

Posted in Art

Leave a Reply

