Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Pat Metheny

leave a comment »

I should be in bed by now because tomorrow, I talk with Pat Metheny EARLY … for me.  But the research has to be done since I found out on Saturday that the interview is confirmed.  I’m excited, and challenged.  The man is into so much, and has absorbed and returned so much to the world of music.  I’m reading everything I can find, and listening to as much as I can find, especially about his new Unity Band.  I don’t know why, but him returning to the flavor of 80/81 sort of reminds me of when Tom Petty formed and began touring with the Traveling Wilburys.  They struck me as simpler and more acoustic, like it seems to me he was early in his career.  And I wonder if all artists go through this cycle; they begin simply, become more complex and eventually return to a neo-simplistic style.  It’s as if the more mature and experienced they get, the more they realize that the best way to communicate what was always in their hearts is to return to their childlike, more innocent state.  A state tempered with experience but no longer dictated by it.

Written by Interviewer

August 29, 2012 at 12:44

Posted in Scratchpad

Leave a Reply

