Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

A Fruitful Couple of Days

leave a comment »

I’m going to write this again, but this time, I’m going to save it just in case WordPress deletes it again.

Had a really good interview with Walt Parazaider, one of the founding members of the band, Chicago. He was warm and friendly and it was a pleasure to talk to him. I expect I’ll have his interview up in a couple days.

And, the Pat Metheny interview is finally done. I have always loved his music, so when we first started talking, I babbled for a minute until I remembered something from school; if you’re nervous, say so and it will go away. I did, it did and we got down to business. And he was so cool.

The thing is, he said we could talk for 15 minutes but we ended up talking for exactly 23 minutes. That might not seem like a big difference but here’s the context – I was in a line of probably two dozen interviews his management company had set up. Interviews like these are called Radio Media Tours. Their purpose is to help the artist promote something by giving interviews to local, national and international media all at once. You see this on the evening news. When a local anchor is talking on camera to someone with a big story, that person is probably going to start talking to another station about the same story as soon as the local TV station says goodbye. It saves time and makes the most efficient use of the satellite. But it can be absolutely grueling.

But Pat Metheny was fresh and funny, which makes me think that maybe I was near the front of that line. Or maybe, he’s that way all the time. It’s possible. Anyway, eight minutes, when you’re talking about 15 other people waiting in line around the world to talk to him is a big deal, so I appreciated every extra second and I worked very hard to use every one.

Now, about that … I was using an old version of Audacity, v1.2 (BTW, thank you Open Sourcers). But it had either become corrputed and I hadn’t noticed, or it had a bug that I’d always thought was something else. Anyway, I finished the Pat Metheny interview on Thursday, but wasn’t satisfied with the snap, crackle and pop sounds I was hearing. I thought it was the upload. I thought it was my speakers. I thought it was everything except what it was, the software. Fortunately, there was a v2.2. So I switched it out. There are hardly any cosmetic changes but lots more functionality. Again, thank you Open Source creators.

Because the Thursday interview sounded like a bowl of Rice Krispies to me, I re-edited it. I’m a little more satisfied. More stuff later. Thanks for reading my blog and I hope, if you listen to the interviews at www.soundcloud.com/interviewer-1, you enjoy them. I appreciate any comments you have. Thanks.

Written by Interviewer

September 1, 2012 at 22:11

Posted in Scratchpad

Leave a Reply

