Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Dwight Yoakam Surprise

with 2 comments

Out of the blue, I got a call to interview Dwight Yoakam.  So, quickly looked at his website, Wikipedia page (I’ll be sending you a donation), and his Facebook page.  That, plus the little I know about him turned a panic attack into a great interview.  We’re both from the same hometown, and grew up with Big Ten football looming large.  My HS battled his HS in just about everything, and he has that mid-western sensibility that I just keep encountering.  This man absolutely loves his music, and it goes beyond doing what makes the money and pays the bills.  Plus, he’s reached the point in his career where he can decide what he wants to do, whether music or film, and call the tune, so to speak.  I expect I’ll have it done in a few days.  Thanks for reading my blog and to hear the interviews I’ve done so far, go to  http://www.soundcloud.com/interviewer-1.  And thanks, Dwight, for a great conversation.

Written by Interviewer

September 12, 2012 at 08:59

Posted in Scratchpad

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great interview. Dwight seemed so relaxed. I enjoyed every minute of it.

    pyeacres

    September 9, 2013 at 08:38


Leave a Reply

