Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

The Front Door is Almost Open

leave a comment »

My website is almost finished.  It looks pretty good, it’s functional and it does a lot without being too cluttered or busy or confusing.  I could tweak it forever, but for the most part, it’s done.  And I think I’m going change the focus of my blog a little.  I think I’m going to talk a little more about the art and science of interviews.  Most of what we hear in the media are interviews, whether they with politicians, musicians, the military, financiers … all of these are efforts by these people to convince us to see the world the way they do.  They want to convince us to give up some resource to them; time, money of course, but most of all, belief in something or disbelief in something else.  When that happens, I think they get more power and we get less; rarely is it shared.  And all of it is based on the ancient art of rhetoric.  Rhetoric, aka spin, serves the talker more so than the listener.  So besides talking about conversations and interactions, I’ll be trying to do some decoding.

Written by Interviewer

September 17, 2012 at 03:55

Posted in Scratchpad

Leave a Reply

