Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Head Not Explode

leave a comment »

It has been a steadily busy last week or so.  But I want to just touch on a conversation I had this morning on Twitter. The thing about social media, as I mentioned in a previous post, is that they are (or can be) just like face to face conversations except without the face.  For some people, that’s an excuse to say things you would never say if you didn’t have another face looking back at you.  In other words, it gives some people the courage to be cowardly and say incredibly mean and cruel things.  I think the term is still “flaming.”  So, it seems to me that only people w/a high degree of social skill can use social media and get the benefits of social media to include the clout of social media.  That because, I think, that other people can see how they handle flamers, especially when they are sharing the other side of a quite reasonable argument w/no real reason to “go off”.  I’ve been fortunate to have had several such conversations with such people, and I had one this morning.  This gentleman and I differed on what we thought were the benefits of brick and mortar libraries v tablets which bring more than a library ever could to your lap.  Our views don’t matter as much as the outcome which was me saying I enjoyed the conversation and he concurring. If only the world could see that the honorable Felix Frankfurter, a former US Supreme Court justice was right when he said, “The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function.”  I appreicate it when it happens.

Written by Interviewer

December 28, 2012 at 23:24

Posted in Scratchpad

Leave a Reply

