Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

It’s been an interesting last few days

leave a comment »

It’s been an interesting last few days.  Did three great interviews, one with gothic, Americana and time/space continuium bending author Caroline Miller.  The second was with Russell Hitchcock of the 80s soft rock group Air Supply.  The third was with former Shaw University President Irma McClaurin.  She was the keynote speaker for a local MLK birthday observance.  I snagged her and she agreed to let me talk to her.  It was a great conversation too.  The first two are up on my Soundcloud site and I’m pretty happy with both.  The last  one is in process and will be up in a couple of days.

Also did a couple of promos, one for a woman who is a analyst goddess of counter-terrorism and one for The Impaler, a music critic for a newspaper in Austin.

Meanwhile, I’m being driven crazy by an hum I can’t seem to track down.  The phone company said it’s 15 volts that is being induced by nearby power lines.  The manufacturer of the equipment I have says it’s not their box.  So, I have to use choke core filters on the inside line to try to get rid of whatever it is, RF or AC, I just don’t know.

I have a big interview scheduled next week.  This author wrote a book about 20 years ago that drove many many people crazy, and he’s just written a follow up.  He and I had a conversation about hisfirst  book and its contents on the terrace on top of the Library of Congress after a speaking engagement he had there.  I was there as part of an under-graduate program.  I’m looking forward to talking with him again.

Written by Interviewer

January 28, 2013 at 11:14

Posted in Scratchpad

Leave a Reply

