Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Work in the Trenches

leave a comment »

This post is sort of the equivalent of cleaning as I go. I’m working on my Conversus Facebook account right now. I’m trying to clean it up and make it more functional. So, I’ve removed the Twitter app from Facebook because every tweet fills it up with posts that make it less and less navigable. Like all of the Follow Friday tweets, for instance. And I’m deleting all of the duplicate Twitter posts and leaving all of the Soundcloud and Vox Pop updates, since there is usually only one update from each of those only when there is new content. I’ve been using BufferApp and Circular for months and there are probably dozens of duplicate posts that like straws have accumulated on the back of my Conversus account. They have got to go. Thing is too, that I have accounts linked to each other, so a post on one is also posted by another, so there is another source of needless duplication. Just went to Twitter and revoked access to those other services that are automatically retweeting my tweets from within their domains, like Soundcloud and Vox Pop. For example, it also looks like my LinkedIn account is connected to FB too, and FB get Twitter feeds, so LinkedIn reposts Twitter posts to FB as well. I need a block diagram so I can see what is going on and get better control over this mess. I’ve been thinking about adding a Tumblr account, and I need to be able to manage how these sites share with each other a little better. Trying to stop this at their source and at their destination.  I mean, it’s OK if this post gets shared to Twitter.  It’s a pain in the ass if this post gets shared with Twitter, which then shares it with Linkedin, Soundcloud and Facebook , which then reshares it back to Twitter.   I’m generating content in each of these mediums specific to these mediums and I don’t want to have the social media equivalent of somebody rambling in the corner.

Written by Interviewer

February 5, 2013 at 14:54

Posted in Scratchpad

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

