Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Block Diagram

leave a comment »

I’ve been spending the last two days understanding why having a social network like YouTube or Twitter isn’t enough.  For years, I’ve had a bunch of different social networking accounts.  Whenever there’s something I want to talk about or vent about or promote, I go to one of them and squawk, oftentimes, forgetting all about the others.  So some network don’t get used for months, years.

But each one has a specialty and followers that don’t want to be ignored.  So, besides having a bunch of social networks, they all need to be connected so that when something happens on one of them, more than one of them will know about it.  So when I upload a new video to YouTube or a new interview to Soundcloud, if Facebook or Twitter doesn’t know about it, I’ve lost a big part of my audience.  So what if I post a brilliant observation (like this one) on WordPress.  If I can’t share it with my professional audience on Linkedin, stuff like character, personality, critical thinking and good grammar might not get highlighted to potential partners or customers.

At the same time, my Facebook page had become a garbage dump because all of my Tweets were going there.  In fact, I really hadn’t thought about how they were set up, so I would link them to Twitter through Facebook, and also, activate them to connect directly to Twitter.  So I’d have multiple tweets on the same subject.  This was especially bad when I used services like BufferApp or Circular.  A week’s worth of preloaded tweets, where many of them were repeats, made my Facebook page start to remind me of a room where every wall was convered with the same terrible blacklight poster.

So, I remade all of the connections and created a few new ones with IFTTT (IfThisthenThat).  Recognize it as a logic statement that means for something to happen, something else has to happen first.  It lets you link an amazing number of apps in almost any combination you can think of.  In fact, on their page, there are at least 2500 pages with 10 possible app combinations each.  A great idea.

P.S. Something else I just realised.  WordPress, Soundcloud and YouTube send or speak or create content.  Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin receive or listen or consume content.  The main mission of the first three is to create something; words, sounds, pictures.  The second three also create and send content, but it’s usually as part of a dialogue, not as a means to an end.  And people in the first three do dialogue, but I think they are more interested in creating and sharing and improving on what they’re creating and sharing.  So it makes sense that the consumer social networks don’t feed into, but are fed by the generating social networks.  I am making content like a meal for people to eat.  Then, I engage them in conversation to get them to review the dish and recommend it to their friends.

So, as reported, I now have a block diagram that is quite pretty and tells me exactly where each post I make goes and through which app.  I connected them, posted to each one of them and then watched where the posts went.  Sort of like pouring colored water in the toilet to see where it’s leaking thoughout the house.  Well, on second thought, that’s not a great analogy, but you get the idea.  IOW, no more garbage dumps.  Instead, this is all starting to look like a media strategy.

Written by Interviewer

February 9, 2013 at 14:46

Posted in Scratchpad

Leave a Reply

