Reporter's Notebook

The art and science of the interview

Freerider Redux

leave a comment »

Here’s the thing. I wrote a post not long about about people who don’t do anything but repost the stuff they get from other people and don’t really create any original content of their own. At the time, from my perspective, it seemed like the people doing all of the work of creating were having their efforts heisted by people who didn’t want to do any. Since then, I’ve come to realize that sometimes, people who reshare stuff, even if it isn’t their own, just want to pass along something they think is cool, or they want to be part of a conversation. Now, with a better point of view and hopefully a less judgemental one, I can see better how a social community works. And when I read the first post, I feel somewhat, uh, … ignorant. But, I’ll leave the first post up though because people change, and because since I am a journalist too, I don’t want to sanitize myself too much either.

Written by Interviewer

March 20, 2013 at 11:45

Posted in Scratchpad

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

